Hawkins schools and Lunch Box child feeding programs begin June 1

Jeff Bobo • May 26, 2020 at 8:00 AM

ROGERSVILLE — Hawkins County youngsters will have two ways to receive free lunches this summer: the Of One Accord ministry’s Lunch Box program, and a continuing lunch “drive-by” service at six schools.

When the schools shut down in March, Hawkins County launched a drive-by lunch pickup service for all students at six schools.

It started as a daily program, but later began offering multiple meals for pickup on Mondays and Thursdays to get the children through the week. It also delivered meals on various school bus routes.

Between March 17 and May 18, Hawkins County Schools had provided 152,448 meals via the program, but meal service was scheduled to end temporarily on Thursday.

Director of Schools Matt Hixson announced Thursday that student meal service would resume on June 1 serving multiple meals each Monday and Thursday from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the six previous drive-by school sites — Bulls Gap School, Mooresburg Elementary, Clinch School, Hawkins Elementary, Surgoinsville Elementary, and Church Hill Elementary.

Buses will not be delivering meals during the summer.

Of One Accord’s Lunch Box

The Of One Accord ministry’s Lunch Box will once again be providing free lunch to children 18 and under at various locations across the county on weekdays between June 1 and July 31.

In 2019, the program distributed 8,545 meals valued at $42,725 to Hawkins County children during summer break.

Program director Rita Jones said meals will be provided to all children without charge, but the child must be present to pick up the food.

Although meals have traditionally be eaten on site in the programs’s mobile cafeterias made from converted school buses, due to restrictions on close contact, the meals will be available for pickup only.

Lunch Box daily schedule

Beginning on June 1 meals will be provided at locations and times as follows:


Shepherd’s Center, 306 E. Main St., Rogersville: 11 a.m. to noon

Rogersville area bus route

Arrowhead/Brown Drive, 2013 Brown Drive —  11-11:20 a.m.

Terrace Apartments, 801 W. Broadway — 11:30-11:50 a.m.

Locust, Trent Lane — Noon-12:20 p.m.

Harmon Drive, Harmon Street — 12:30-12:50 p.m.

Swift Park, Hasson Street — 1-1:20 p.m.

Fugate Hill, 623 Watterson St. — 1:30-1:50 p.m.

Rogersville City Park at Pool Parking Lot, 331 Park Blvd — 2-2:30 p.m.

Church Hill/Surgoinsville bus route

Stoney Point MHP, 2901 Main St., Surgoinsville — 11-11:20 a.m.

Stroupe Court Apartments, Stroupe Court, Church Hill — 11:35-11:55 a.m.

Rolling Hill MHP, 4733 Carters Valley Road, Church Hill — 12:10-12:30 p.m.

Cross Roads MHP, 233 Payne Ridge Road, Church Hill — 12:40–1:00 p.m.

Church Hill Pool, 424 Lane St., Church Hill — 1:10-1:40 p.m.

Country Lane, 152-162 Country Lane, Surgoinsville: 1:50-2:10 p.m.


Hawkins County Boys and Girls Club, 1604 E. Main St., Rogersville — 11 a.m. to noon.

Donations to the Lunch Box program may be dropped off at Of One Accord, 306 E. Main St., Rogersville, TN 37857 or mailed to OOA Lunch Box, P.O. Box 207, Rogersville, TN 37857.

The site administrator has disabled comments for this story.