no avatar

Hawkins awarded federal funding for emergency food and shelter programs

STAFF REPORT • May 11, 2020 at 9:00 PM

ROGERSVILLE — Hawkins County has been awarded CARES Funds made available through the Department of Homeland Security /Federal Emergency Management Agency under the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program.

CARES is short for Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act.

Hawkins County has been chosen to receive $30,800 to supplement emergency food and shelter programs.

A board made up of local representatives will determine how the funds are to be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by local service agencies in the county.

The selection was made by the national board that is chaired by the U.S Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency and consists of representatives from the American Red Cross; Catholic Charities, USA; National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA; the Jewish Federations of North America; the Salvation Army; and United Way Worldwide.

Under the terms of the grant, local agencies chosen to receive funds must:

1) Be private, voluntary nonprofits or units of government.

2) Be eligible to receive federal funds.

3) Have an accounting system.

4) Practice nondiscrimination.

5) Have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs.

6) If they are a private, voluntary organization, have a voluntary board.

Qualifying agencies are urged to apply.

Public or private agencies interested in applying for Emergency Food and Shelter Program funds must submit a written application that includes the amount of EFSP funding requested by program area (food, rent, utilities, etc.) to Local EFSP Board, P.O. Box 46, Kingsport, TN 37662. The deadline for applications to be received is May 20, 2020.

Upper East Tennessee Human Development Agency (UETHDA)

Headquartered in Kingsport at the VO Dobbins Complex, UETHDA has been providing the tools, education, and support for a better life for more than 50 years. The agency is one of thousands of Community Action Agencies in the United States operated by the National Community Action Partnership. UETHDA serves eight counties in northeast Tennessee: Carter, Greene, Hawkins, Hancock, Johnson, Sullivan, Washington and Unicoi. UETHDA has a variety of programs from emergency assistance to more long-terms paths for self-sufficiency, including national programs such as Head Start, Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP), Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP) and more. UETHDA operates nine neighborhood service centers in those eight counties.

To learn more, visit www.uethda.org.

The site administrator has disabled comments for this story.